Brooklyn Book Festival 2017- Special Book Signing with Sonia Sanchez added!

Brooklyn Book Festival

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Brooklyn Borough Hall and Plaza, 10 a.m. – 6.p.m.

Brooklyn Borough Hall
209 Joralemon St, Brooklyn, NY 11201

For more information, visit

The Center for Black Literature, Booth #314


Book signing with poet and activist Sonia Sanchez

1 PM – at the Center for Black Literature Booth #314.

A Burst of LightAnd Other Essays by Audre Lorde
Foreword by Sonia Sanchez

This path-breaking collection of essays is a clarion call to build communities that nurture our spirit. Lorde announces the need for a radical politics of intersectionality while struggling to maintain her own faith as she wages a battle against liver cancer. From reflections on her struggle with the disease to thoughts on lesbian sexuality and African-American identity in a straight white man’s world, Lorde’s voice remains enduringly relevant in today’s political landscape.

See the line up of amazing authors!

Let us know you are coming. Sign -up for updates!

RSVP NOW for our Official Bookend event Sept. 14, 2017 with Marita Golden.


The Brooklyn Literary Council has brought together an incredible group of authors from all over the world for the 2017 Brooklyn Book Festival. This year’s Best of Brooklyn (BoBi) will be presented to Colson Whitehead, and the lineup includes such literary stars as: Jessica Abel, Stig Abell, Jami Attenberg, Gabrielle Bell, Laurie Berkner, Alexandra Bracken, Thi Bui, Deborah Campbell, Dame Darcy, Sarah Dessen, Angela Dominguez, Sharon Draper, Jonathan Safran Foer, Carolyn Forché, Santiago Gamboa, Nelson George, Alex Gilvarry, Chris Hayes, Siri Hustvedt, Maira Kalman, Karl Ove Knausgård, Victor LaValle, Jonathan Lethem, Robin Coste Lewis, E. Lockhart, Maja Lunde, Hisham Matar, Jennifer Mathieu, Claire Messud, Pankaj Mishra, David Barclay Moore, Eric Morse, George O’Connor, Joyce Carol Oates, Morgan Parker, Mitali Perkins, Javaka Steptoe, Layli Long Soldier, Colson Whitehead, Jacqueline Woodson, Gene Luen Yang, Ibi Zoboi, and hundreds more. The full list can be found here.